> Home > News & Publications >  News Releases > Ontario’s Top Literary Award Finalists for the Trillium Book Award | Prix Trillium

News Releases

Ontario’s Top Literary Award Finalists for the Trillium Book Award | Prix Trillium

TORONTO – Sixteen books have been shortlisted for the 2019 Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium, the Ontario Government’s prestigious award for literature for four separate prizes. Five English books and five French titles have been shortlisted for the main awards. Three English-language poetry titles will compete for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language, and three French-language titles will vie for the  Children’s Literature in the French language prize. For detailed information on all the 2019 Trillium Book Award finalists click here. 

English-language Finalists for the Trillium Book Award:

  • Tamara Faith Berger, Queen Solomon, Coach House Books
  • Dionne Brand, The Blue Clerk, McClelland & Stewart
  • Claudia Dey, Heartbreaker, Harper Avenue, an imprint of HarperCollins
  • K.D. Miller, Late Breaking, Biblioasis
  • Miriam Toews, Women Talking, Knopf Canada

French-language Finalists for the Trillium Book Award:

  • Alain Doom, Un quai entre deux mondes, Prise de parole
  • Gilles Latour, À la merci de l'étoile, Les Éditions L'Interligne
  • Lisa L'Heureux, Et si un soir, Prise de parole
  • Yvon Malette, Entre le risque et le rêve, Éditions David
  • David Ménard, Poupée de rouille, Les Éditions L'Interligne

Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language:

  • Gwen Benaway, Holy Wild, Book*hug
  • Stevie Howell, I left nothing inside on purpose, McClelland & Stewart
  • Robin Richardson, Sit How You Want, Signal Editions; Véhicule Press

Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French language:

  • Pierre-Luc Bélanger, L'Odyssée des neiges, Éditions David
  • Diya Lim, La marchande, la sorcière, la lune et moi, Les Éditions L'Interligne
  • Daniel Marchildon, Otages de la nature, Éditions David

Celebrate the Trillium Book Award finalists and hear the authors read from their books at a free public reading at the Toronto Reference Library to be held on June 12, 2019 at the Bram and Bluma Appel Salon.The winners will be announced on June 13, 2019 at an industry dinner to be held in Toronto.


“The Trillium Book Awards, Ontario’s highest literary honour, recognizes excellence in writing and publishing by shining the spotlight on our homegrown literary talent. Their stories inspire readers across our great province and beyond and I am proud to congratulate this year’s finalists.”

- Michael Tibollo, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

“The Ontario book publishing sector is the biggest in Canada. It contributes more than $500 million to Ontario’s GDP and employs nearly 6,500 people. Through the Trillium Book Awards, Ontario Creates celebrates the authors that drive excellence in Ontario’s book publishing industry.”

- Aaron Campbell, Chair, Ontario Creates

“Ontario Creates is proud to showcase our province’s incredible literary talent through the Trillium Book Awards. The celebrations feature a night of author readings which is open to the public – an exciting, opportunity for Ontarians to meet the finalist authors and hear them read from their books which represent the very best literature and poetry in the province.”

- Karen Thorne-Stone, President & CEO, Ontario Creates 


  • The Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium encourages excellence in literature by investing in Ontario-based writers.  Award recipients receive $20,000 and their respective publishers receive $2,500 to promote the winning titles.
  • Three titles are short-listed for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in  English language, which recognizes literary achievement for a first, second or third published work of poetry. Three titles have been short-listed for the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French language, which is awarded in alternating years with the Trillium Book Awards for Poetry in French language. The winner for each of these awards receives $10,000 and their publisher $2,000 for promotion of the titles.
  • Previous winners have included world-renowned writers Alice Munro, Margaret Atwood, Austin Clarke, Thomas King, Michael Ondaatje, Marguerite Andersen, Andrée Lacelle and François Paré.
  • Book publishing in Canada is a $1.64 billion industry, with two-thirds of revenues generated in Ontario


Bob Reid

Suzan Ayscough, Head of Communications 
Ontario Creates

Disponible en français